Relica, a cross-platform UI for restic, is now version 1.0

Just wanted to mention here that Relica, a backup service I’ve been working on heavily for the last 6 months, is now version 1.0: https://relicabackup.com/blog/relica-1_0

Relica uses restic for its archival and restore operations, so you can restore your data using only restic if you need to. Relica takes care of running restic on a schedule correctly – many scripts I’ve seen here and elsewhere that automate restic are nice and convenient, but have the potential to lose data if they run prune at the wrong times (:exclamation:) – but Relica won’t.

I started working on this after CrashPlan announced the retirement of their Home product, as I realized I’d need a suitable replacement for my whole family, and their families. Even CrashPlan wasn’t a perfect fit (not for my own needs), so I decided to make Relica. At first, it was “just” going to be a web UI over restic, but then I realized I wanted it to be more accessible and usable by non-technical users who don’t know how to clone open source projects and get started with something from GitHub.

I also wanted a fancy managed cloud backup solution so that my family wouldn’t need to set up their own B2 or S3 accounts, etc. And I wanted to back up to multiple cloud providers without uploading my data more than once (we have slow Internet access).

So Relica was born. And today it’s version 1.0. Now you can back up to local disk, friends’ computers (or other computers on your own account that have Relica installed), the Relica Cloud, or your own cloud accounts, including SFTP and WebDAV.