High Memory Usage on Backup, Prune, and Check

I am new to Restic, coming from a rsync (with hardlinks to simulate snapshots) to a local SAN. I’m using Restic with B2 to store web and email data, currently full system backups. I might change to per-account Restic repos since deduplicaiton doesn’t seem to be a game changer–the first backup stored 61G in 53G. I think compression would be the way to go if it were possible, as I’ve seen good compression with disk-level compression with my other backups.

I have only tried Restic on one VPS with 4GB of RAM, which holds 1.6 million files. The large portion of that is in IMAP Maildir folders. Unfortunately, Restic did not succeed before I added a 4GB swap file. Watching the process in top shows the memory usage exceed 51% at its peak. ~4GB of memory for a backup process seems way too high to me. It appears the memory usage was the worst with the largest Maildir folders, as some contain over 100k files.

Can Restic be tweaked via CLI arguments to be more memory efficient, even if it increases the backup time some? I am concerned my dataset is a bad fit for Restic. Thanks for any help you can offer.

Deduplication is not going to change single backups much, as there isn’t much duplicated data on a single system. Deduplication is most effective at reducing the amount of new data that must be added when a similar backup already exists.

Reserve your judgement until you have taken a second backup, as that’s where deduplication will be the most beneficial. Some stats from repositories I control:

• Our production repository is storing 810 backups (from 10 daily full-system backups and 5 daily database backups) with a combined logical size of 8.4TB in a 152GB repository.
  • My home LAN server has 15 full-system backups with a logical size of 1.2TB in a 108GB repository.