Sparse File Support

I am new to Restic, and I just learned Restic doesn’t specifically support sparse files. My backup was calculating ~180GB larger than df showed, and it turned out to be a sparse file causing the difference. Note that deduplication didn’t actually store that much, but it was fully processed.

I found the sparse files on my system with this command, which excludes the virtual file systems and reports files using less than 1.0 of their allocated space:

# find / -type f -not \( -wholename '/sys/*' -or -wholename '/proc/*' -or -wholename '/dev/*' -or -wholename '/run/*' \) -printf "%S\t%s\t%p\n" | gawk '$1 < 1.0 {print}'

0.75    16384   /etc/openldap/certs/secmod.db
0.5625  65536   /etc/openldap/certs/cert8.db
0.75    16384   /etc/openldap/certs/key3.db
0.542857        286720  /var/lib/rpm/__db.001
2.88798e-07     198560880672    /var/log/lastlog
0.997403        1576960 /var/cache/man/index.db
0.999721        106075056       /usr/lib/locale/locale-archive

The file /var/log/lastlog using 0.0000292% of its apparent size of ~190GB. I did some research, and found it is normal for that file to be sparse. Mine is large because I have UID ranges in /etc/login.defs that start very high.

I have excluded that file, and the backup size was normal. However, I really don’t want to restore a server and lose the history of when users last logged in. But without Restic treating this file as sparse, it seems to me it would try to restore 190GB non-sparse and the restore would fail anyway.

What are the implications of restoring sparse files when Restic doesn’t actually support them? Would it result in corruption, if the application that created them intended for them to be sparse? Note that the other sparse files on my system appear to be database formats.