Backing up many servers into one repository

Hi there, I’m a sys admin at a non-profit organization, and came across Restic while looking for replacements to our current Bacula system. My initial testing of Restic went well, deduplication was great, backups were speedy. After initial testing (with promising results), I had to wipe out our current Bacula system and dive into Restic (lack of funding means lack of space to test things out on separate servers).

So, I’m adding more and more things to the repository (I’m now backing up about 37 servers, amounting to a 635GB repo, although the servers themselves amount to much more than that), but things are starting to choke. Some of our smaller servers with 4GB of RAM are doing an incredible amount of swapping, and because of it, previously speedy backups (in the realm of a couple minutes) can take an hour or more to complete.

What worries me is that I still need to start backing up a couple more servers, and our file server, which amounts to about 1 TB of data. I’m worried that adding that extra data to the repository will start causing more and problems. Any ideas on what I should do to remedy the situation? Do I need to just start from scratch and create separate repositories for different clusters of servers to keep the repository size down? The deduplication is working wonders on our environment, so I would hate to reduce the effectiveness, but this doesn’t seem to scale well, and I’m entirely unsure what will happen once I get the file server data into the repo.

2 Likes

@samuryan89