Windows PowerShell, unable to see any sort of progress report in real time

Hi.
Very new to restic and a total noob with PowerShell as well. I have been trying for the last 2 days to get a working Restic script that is simple enough for me to understand. For this I started using GitHub - kmwoley/restic-windows-backup: Powershell scripts to run Restic backups on Windows which is awesome but too complex for me to know everything that is doing. So I simplifed it and now Restic is launched like this:

& $ResticExe --verbose backup $folder_list_D --use-fs-snapshot --tag $tag_D --exclude-file=$WindowsExcludeFile --exclude-file=$LocalExcludeFile *>&1 | Tee-Object -FilePath $logfile -Append

My preference is to be able to see in the PowerShell terminal, as much information of what is going on as possibe. However all I get is this:

PS C:\Restic> .\backup.ps1
open repository
lock repository
no parent snapshot found, will read all files
load index files
start scan on [D:\folder1 D:\folder2]
start backup on [D:\folder1 D:\folder2]
creating VSS snapshot for [d:\]
successfully created snapshot for [d:\]
scan finished in 11.993s: 10127 files, 23.547 GiB

Then it will start the upload process which can be hours, during all that time nothing will be shown. Is there a way to see, in the terminal in real-time, what progress is being done with the uploading? with the --verbose paramater I expected to see even what files are being processed. I can’t even see if it is working on D:\folder1 or D:\folder2

@diegopau i have also seen different behaviour between CMD and Powershell.

I use CMD for restic backups in the Task Scheduler.
For manual restic operations on the commandline i use Microsoft Windows Terminal :

https://aka.ms/terminal-documentation

For me Terminal has nice features like tabs, splits, dynamic font scaling and works great with Restic. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Did you try --verbose=2?