Suggestion for pack-size

Hi all,

i am new to restic and doing my first steps to get my (and more important my wifes) data stored in a safe place.

So far everything is working, i did some performance testing against Kopia and Borg where Restic was the clear winner.

I do not have Terabyte of data, but a Gigabit network connection to my NAS which is operating as backup device.
Do i need to tune the pack-size parameter to a higher value or should i leave the 16 MB as they are?

Thanks in advance!

Hi @magnum and welcome to the restic community! :slight_smile:

You probably have found the documentation for this already, but in the case you haven here is a link to it where this very option is explained: https://restic.readthedocs.io/en/latest/047_tuning_backup_parameters.html#pack-size

Is the doc sufficient enough to answer your question, or are there things which are still unclear.

Can you tell more about your estimated repository size? And the NAS - is there some special kind of storage involved or is it simply hard disc(s)?

Many thanks from another german user for your warm welcome. I love restic already :slight_smile:

Yes, this documentation i am referring to.
It says that it can improve speed also on a local repository.

In my current setup the data is stored on a regular harddisk which is a little slower than the Gigabit network connection to my NAS. That’s what i am asking for.
However, i am fine with the overall performance. The initial backup took 2:10 hours for 315 GB of data.

So maybe i am worried too much about the wrong things and should simply use it. :slight_smile:

The files are stored on a hard drive connected directly to the server (Proxmox, but that doesn’t matter). The access to my NAS is made via NFS.
Security is not a big thing as it’s only the data of me and my wife. The date are not going elsewhere outside my LAN.
Both devices are connected via Gigabit-Switch, so the harddisks (not SSD) might be the limiting factors.