Snapshots Dependencies - Backup vs Replication Tool

I have been reading through the Restic documentation and it sounds fantastic. I have a few Linux servers that I usually backup via BackupPC current but it’s a pain to setup and it’s time for me to replace the back up server so I am looking at options.

The word “snapshot” is used a lot. It concerned me some because I am looking for long term to disk storage not a replication solution. Do the snapshots have a child/parent relationship? If my 1 year backup corrupted, would all the rest following be unusable? If so what protections are in place to prevent against something like this? I appreciate any information you may share.

Last, I probably will need to just try it but is Restic a viable option for large storage backups? 9TB?

I have been using restic for a few years now and find it very reliable. Not only backing up but also restoring, which I have done a few times already. In fact I rely so much on it that when I switch my personal box, I just install Linux and then copy stuff over from the mounted snapshot that I need.

Yes they do. Each snapshot can have a parent and when you backup the same path from the same client, the last one is automatically used as a parent.

If one of restic’s files is corrupted, the file it’s part of will be broken - and all files that contain the same part as restic deduplicates even parts of files.

If you want to avoid corruption, simply rsync the whole restic repo to a second location and regularily run restic check --read-data(-subset) on the repos.

My biggest repo is somewhere north of 2TB but I don’t see a reason why 9TB shouldn’t be possible. I think there is some limit regarding cache and RAM but that might have already been adressed in the current version. Just search the forum and you’ll find discussions about it.