Setting up Backblaze with Restic (Windows 10)

Hi, I am very new to Restic. I have a Backblaze bucket and application key ready to receive back ups.

I was following Backblaze’s tutorial on configuring Restic to work with it (focused for Linux and MacOS), and I’m stuck on a few things.

For example:
Defining the restic environment variables:

• I am not sure where I can find B2_ACCOUNT_ID or B2_ACCOUNT_KEY.
  • I am not sure if RESTIC_REPOSITORY is the exact name of my bucket that will be the repository.
  • I am not sure if RESTIC_PASSWORD_FILE’s file path has to be the FULL file path to the file or if it can be abbreviated.

I am also unsure of what the equivalent of “source ~/restic-env” is for Windows.

Apologies for the loaded questions, but most of the tutorials I’ve seen online are primarily geared towards Linux.

it is very simple:

RESTIC_REPOSITORY is the name of your b2-bucket.
ID and KEY are the keys from backblaze. as far as i remember, one of them is only shown once when you create the bucket. i also setup cache and tmp-dir, in case of /tmp is to small.

export RESTIC_PASSWORD=123456
export RESTIC_REPOSITORY='b2:yourBucketName:/' 
export B2_ACCOUNT_ID='......' 
export B2_ACCOUNT_KEY='......' 
export RESTIC_CACHE_DIR=/backup/restic.cache 
export TMPDIR=/backup/restic.tmp

it is very simple:

RESTIC_REPOSITORY is the name of your b2-bucket.
ID and KEY are the keys from backblaze. as far as i remember, one of them is only s

export RESTIC_PASSWORD=123456
export RESTIC_REPOSITORY=‘b2:yourBucketName:/’
export B2_ACCOUNT_ID=‘…’
export B2_ACCOUNT_KEY=‘…’
export RESTIC_CACHE_DIR=/backup/restic.cache
export TMPDIR=/backup/restic.tmp

Is this in Linux/Bash syntax? Would this work in Windows or does this requiring tinkering first?

Yes, this example is for Linux Systems. I just did a quick “Windows Restic backup” Google search and got shown some GitHub projects where others have offered their Powershell script which they use to fully automate their backup.