Rustic: equivalent of `copy`

Hi!

As restic prune (and only that) needs 5 to 10 minutest to open the repository in which it sits on a single core, I started playing with rustic.

I have already re-implemented my backup script using it, and it works well in theory, though the only thing I have not yet found a solution for is moving my local snapshots to the off-site storage.

With restic I just used restic copy to get data from one to the other. Though how can I do that with rustic?

Thanks @NobbZ for considering rustic!
I think your question is better suited in the rustic discussions.

That said, you can use restic and rustic on the same repository, e.g. restic copy and rustic prune. But I think this we can also better discuss in the rustic discussions - here it’s a bit off-topic.

I haven’t seen the discussions, perhaps link them more prominently in the readme?

Anyway I will reopen a thread there.

If you tell us a bit more about your repository (e.g. the statistics printed by prune and the size of the index folder) then we can probably speed up the prune command in restic.

1. I have to correct myself, it is not “opening the repo” it is when “loading indexes”
  2. After I was able to actually complete a full run using rustic (which repacked ~150 GiB to remove a couple of MiB) the problem seems to be gone
  3. (Output realigned for readability)
    # du -s *
            4 config
    432394992 data
       141280 index
            8 keys
            8 locks
          376 snapshots

4. The deltions are probably from the last run using rustic
    loading indexes...
    loading all snapshots...
    finding data that is still in use for 63 snapshots
    [4:37] 100.00%  63 / 63 snapshots
    searching used packs...
    collecting packs for deletion and repacking
    [0:00] 100.00%  15303 / 15303 packs processed

to repack:             0 blobs / 0 B
    this removes:          0 blobs / 0 B
    to delete:             0 blobs / 1.517 GiB