RFC: Creating git-remote-restic

Hi all, I’ve been a happy user of restic for system backups for several months now. I really like the conceptual simplicity and very smooth user interface restic presents. I’d like to discuss the idea of a git-remote-restic tool. That is, a new type of git remote that stores the commits in a restic repository.

This post has my initial research on what creating such a remote would require, and I have two specific questions:

1. Is there presently anything which fills this niche under development? I’d hate to work on a new project when an existing one already exists.
  2. If not, are there any obvious problems with my design? I’m passingly familiar with the restic and git internals, but I’m by no means an expert. Feedback is very much appreciated.

Why?

Git, on its own, does not provide a feature to use an untrusted remote. Any remote in the git model has full visibility into the content and history of a repository. There isn’t (as far as I can find) any existing software fits at the intersection of these:

• Zero-knowledge. An untrusted third party can be an intermediary between trusted contributors.
  • Transparent. The software doesn’t introduce any new concepts/workflows for the users.

There are a few candidates, but they have problems:

• GPG-based. git-gpg, git-remote-gcrypt, and likely others rely on GPG, which greatly increases the installation and usage complexity.
  • Keybase. git-remote-keybase theoretically provides these guarantees, but is closed-source and run by a single company.

How?

A custom git remote helper will be created (git-remote-restic) which will allow “restic URLs” to be used as normal git remotes. For example:

git remote add mypeer restic::s3:s3.amazonaws.com/my.bucket/git/repo
git push mypeer master