Restic total size jumps to a mega amount!

I’ve been using restic with this current setup for about 11 months very successfully, but I’ve noticed that in the last few days the total amount jumps from

Stats in restore-size mode:
Snapshots processed:   31
   Total File Count:   104821947
         Total Size:   1.861 TiB

to

Stats in restore-size mode:
Snapshots processed:   30
   Total File Count:   101311613
         Total Size:   27.496 TiB

This happened when my /tmp/ directory ran out of space on 23rd November.

How then can I reduce the total size back to its old amount please?

I’ve been running this /usr/local/bin/restic -r $RESTIC_REPOSITORY -p ~/cron/pass.txt forget $EXEMPTIONS --prune --repack-uncompressed --cache-dir $CACHE_DIR and ist accompanying ‘rebuild-index’, ‘check’ and ‘stats’ since but I’ve been unable to reduce the size.

You have to restic forget all the snapshots that contain the unwanted files before pruning.

These are the exact commands that I’ve been using and in this order -

/usr/local/bin/restic -r $RESTIC_REPOSITORY -p ~/cron/pass.txt forget $EXEMPTIONS --prune --repack-uncompressed --cache-dir $CACHE_DIR 

/usr/local/bin/restic -r $RESTIC_REPOSITORY -p ~/cron/pass.txt rebuild-index --cache-dir $CACHE_DIR

/usr/local/bin/restic -r $RESTIC_REPOSITORY -p ~/cron/pass.txt check --cache-dir $CACHE_DIR

/usr/local/bin/restic -r $RESTIC_REPOSITORY -p ~/cron/pass.txt stats --cache-dir $CACHE_DIR

Okay but I don’t see any snapshots in your forget statement. It would have to look something like this:

restic -r repo/ forget b5fbbebc ab991c11

As part of my script before I use the commands that I’ve already quoted, this is part of my bash script for it -

EXEMPTIONS="--keep-hourly 12 --keep-daily 7 --keep-weekly 4 --keep-monthly 12 --keep-yearly 1"
CACHE_DIR="/mnt/backa/tmp/restic-tmp"
TMPDIR="/mnt/backa/tmp/restic-tmp"

and this is just part of my log for it