Restic mount /mnt/restic

I’m new to restic and getting back into FreeNAS after letting it go several years ago. I backup some Windows folders over our LAN to FreeNAS / S3 (Minio).

c:\> restic backup d:\share

I want to restore files by browsing the snapshots from any windows machine on my LAN.

I mounted the repository

root@freenas[~]# restic mount /mnt/restic

Using Cyberduck or WinSCP I can login as root, SFTP to the snapshots and restore files. Perfect!

I created a FreeNAS user and attempted SFTP that new user account and access denied, however I am able to browse /mnt and even some other directories. It looks like the restic folder is owned by root and the group is wheel both with read and execute rights so I added the new user to the wheel group but that didn’t help.

I’d appreciate any guidance.

Can’t you just mount the repository as the user you created, instead of as root?

What rights does the user need, I added him to Operator group but still get this error when attemping fuse mount:

Welcome to FreeNAS
freenas% ./gobackup
freenas% repository 15185ba0 opened successfully, password is correct
mount_fusefs: exit status 71
also, the following messages were logged by a library:
2020/01/30 20:42:30 mount helper error: mount_fusefs: /dev/fuse on /mnt/restic: Operation not permitted
unable to get restore terminal state: 0x5
error in cleanup handler: input/output error
unable to umount (maybe already umounted?): unmount /mnt/restic: operation not permitted

gobackup script works fine as root

export AWS_ACCESS_KEY_ID=myaccesskey
export AWS_SECRET_ACCESS_KEY=12345678
export RESTIC_REPOSITORY=s3:http://192.168.53.4:9000/fcni-freenas
export RESTIC_PASSWORD=tramp123
restic mount /mnt/restic &

No idea, that’s entirely a FreeNAS related question. Personally I don’t use it.

I would make a new directory under the user’s home, and try to mount the repository there.