Restic blocksize functional principle (performance issue for e.g. onedrive?)

I’m new to restic, but considering this backup software for offsite backups on my onedrive (1TB coming with office 365 plan).

I am a bit uncertain whether restic would work with onedrive reliably, as onedrive seems to have somekind of file count limit of about 80k to 100k. So I’m somehow concerned that static block size (small ones) would yield to exploding file counts on my onedrive. Whereas too large block sizes would blow the available space easily (e.g. compiling something makes sometimes hundrets and thousands of small sub-kilobyte files which would then inflate to hundrets of GB if having block sizes of let’s say 10MB).

Does Restic have blocks which are small and always the same size no matter how large a file is, prior to the backup? If so, how do you guys cope with this “issue” then?

I don’t really know the full answers to the question(s), but I do want to point out something for consideration anyway:

Keep in mind that I’m not sure if it’s restic’s goal (or obligation) to handle situations like this. OneDrive, Google Drive, and similar services are not really meant for backup as much as they for file sync. A file limit less than 100k is a really unfortunate arbitrary limitation that seems to be in place to prevent this kind of use case, probably for business reasons.

I’m not opposed to a working solution for this, but it does seem like whatever solution restic implements, would have to be both:

1. A maintenance burden
  2. A bandage that doesn’t actually solve the problem; i.e. maybe it would help backup sets that are a little larger, but not a lot larger; i.e. it doesn’t scale

That’s my guess. I might be wrong. But I just thought I’d put them here for consideration.

Restic splits files into blocks, afterwards restic combines the blocks into larger files, which is what you’re interested in. So it’s not about the number of blobs, but the number of files.