Restic backup to Backblaze B2 container much lower than backed up volume size

Hello,

I’m quite new to Restic and just recently started to use it (to backup my simple Raspberry PI NAS).
Regarding Restic everything works like a charm and the installation process was easy.

I do have one question. I am backing up approx 2TB. Restic is running for a few days now (daily backup to B2). But when I look at the B2 Bucket size it’s only 746.8 GB in size vs the ~2TB I expected it to be.

I have narrowed down that Restic isn’t able to backup the Timemachine folders, but that seems something I should be able to fix (permission error). Most other data comes from a Windows (10) backup to the NAS, which should backup fine (no errors).

Excluding the Timemachine folders from the total backup this still leaves +/- 1.5 TB of data I would expect to be send to B2 vs the 746.8 GB in the bucket. And I’m kind a lost why this is the case, does anyone has tips on how to proceed?

Deduplication might be playing a role. Afaik it will be effect, even for the initial backup, since it’s block-based.

You can use restic mount to browse repository or restic ls ${a_snapshot_id} to list the files inside a snapshot and approve if the files you’d like to see is in.
Or even run restic check to check if there is a problem on the repo internally.

1 Like

You could also run restic stats <snapshotid> which will calculate the size of the restored files. That should give you a pretty good idea how much data is contained in the backup.

2 Likes

Thanks Gurkan and MichaelEischer both for your reply. I have worked out what is happening and all is well. First there where some minor issues found by running restic check (index rebuild solved this).

I also checked the last snapshot with the stats function and compared to the local files. The 890GB backup will result in a ~2TB restore which is correct.

I clearly underestimated the powerful deduplication of Restic.