Reasonable number of incremental backups?

Using Ubuntu 21.04. Just finished my first successful Restic backup of my 1TB (210k files) user files from my laptop to a USB connected spinning hard drive.

I’m not a techie but I get the impression that Restic can safely handle more incremental backups than rsync. So how many incremental backups can I reasonably do with Restic? Assume about 400 files will change between each incremental backup. (210,000 files total. A mix of small and large files.)

My initial backup took 43hrs. So I’m hoping that Restic can safely do a high number of incremental backups before I need to start all over again with another full backup. Let me know.Thanks!

Both rsync and restic can handle as many backups as you have drive space. However, rsync just makes your backup exactly equal to the source so you only ever have the last stand to go back to. On the other hand restic will keep a history so that you can go back to what the source looked like at the time of each backup run even if you have backed up many times inbetween. When you mount a snapshot, you will see the file system at the point of the backup.

This means that your repository will steadily grow as old and new files are kept in it. To counter the drive filling effect of this, you can regularily have restic forget certain snapshots according to rules you give it. Check this out if you want to learn more:

https://restic.readthedocs.io/en/stable/060_forget.html#removing-snapshots-according-to-a-policy

1 Like

Great. Thanks. Soon as I get a moment, I’ll read the docs.

It sounds like I can indefinitely keep running Restic incremental backups. And when the drive gets full just delete the oldest snapshots.

So am I correct in thinking that (for this particular repo) I won’t ever need to do another full backup as long as I keep deleting oldest snapshots? And making sure there’s always space on the drive?