Readthedocs Debian install feedback

Brilliant program, big thanks to all who’ve developed it.

Some feedback for the installation documentation (guide) for Debian (ubuntu).

The Debian section, while giving a warning about apt-get’s outdated version, doesn’t suggest or give a link to the precompiled binaries. Now I’m a noob but not helpless. I spent a lot of time wrestling with apt-get to even get restic installed…and when I did, it was suffering from those speed problems other Backblaze users were noting from way back. Obviously this was version related (as the solutions suggested).

I know very little about the inner workings of these systems, so I’ll assume that in wrestling with that first version of restic I got pip to install correctly. (Had a lot of problems with getting around a pip error…but I think that was a backblaze specific error, not restic per se).

Regardless, after a long route with giving up and going back to duplicity…then frustrated with duplicity going back to restic: I removed restic through apt-get and just installed one of the precompiled binaries.

The precompiled binary was extremely fast to setup, no problems at all.

My recommendation: until the apt-get is serving a (useful) current version, might I suggest that the precompiled binary option be put on the doc page under Debian as either a first suggestion, or a secondary alternative to, the apt-get method.

Thanks!

Thanks for bringing this up @Malp12.