Rclone Union + Restic, Anyone?

Hello to all,

I’ve been using restic for a while now (2019) , i have not needed to restore any file, just kept running restic backup with rclone to a google drive. Everything seems to be running fine for now, a few checks, some rebuilds, but never a prune. I had unlimited storage until a few days ago.

Unfortunately, I lost my unlimited backup, I now have around 5TB(?) or something like this of data. I was looking for some cheap options out there, and saw the onedrive option, it has exactly 6TB of data, but it’s split over 6 users.

I just learned about the rclone union feature. Union
So I could have my 5TB of data spread across those 6 accounts on onedrive, but I am not sure it works fine, so I am here asking for some help regarding this. If anyone have used it or experienced any problems and etc…

It’s a temporary solution, until I am able to use rewrite and remove a bunch of unneeded data from my snapshots and etc I will also try to upgrade it to v2, but for that amount of data, everything is complicated. Especially because currently i don’t have a place to store everything locally. I will try to revive my freenass that should be enough to handle most of it… but not sure if it will enable to migrate the formats and etc… Like i said, I just need a place to actually save everything until i fix everything…

Since we are here, is there an easy way to move a repository over? I am thinking in using rclone for this as of now… guess it will be the easiest solution, but not sure if I will be able to use the new folder after it.

Suggestions are welcome.

1 Like

hi, i use rclone for that as well. a simple rclone sync --immutable and rclone check
you will want to use --immutable, helps to catch bitrot.
fwiw, over at the rclone forum, i am @asdffdsa

onedrive, especially personal, has lots of throttling and tends to error out.
imho, would not trust it with backups.