Rclone repository

Hi all, I’m new with restic and I’m trying to understand how to design my proper home backup solution.
I have around 3 GB of data that I would like to backup with restic on a Google Drive / rclone repository. I don’t know if I can just create a single repository based on rclone and directly point backups on it, or if it would be better to perform backup to a local repository and then replicate it to the remote rclone repository.
What would you suggest me?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Less is better here. Avoid unnecessary steps.

IMO this is the best approach.

2 Likes

I do the 2-step method; my data is about the same size as yours so a local copy is not a “space” problem.

Here are the advantages, for me. YMMV : )

1. I can take backups even when I don’t have good connectivity (or any at all – e.g., while traveling etc.)
  2. I get to do a check --read-data far more often than I would dare to with a non-local repo.
    • Ditto for restore tests (I use restic dump to produce a tar file and diff that against what’s on disk. Since tar is a tried-and-trusted format, I consider that to be sufficient to assure that I can actually restore data when needed!)
    • Ditto for forget/prune. rclone sync-ing the end result is definitely much faster than having restic try to prune+forget a remote repo
  3. rc3one is pretty stable and I’m very confident there will be no transmission errors, so if I restic check locally it is guaranteed to be correct even on the cloud

Finally, one big reason I moved from borg was to be able to do this. Borg warns against this as a security issue due to the way it is designed I suppose, but I was never very happy with that. I jumped as soon as restic had compression for just over a year : )

2 Likes