Questions and thoughts on restic security - revocable keys and cryptoperiods

Disclaimer: I am not a security expert.

Question: What is the purpose & concept of the revocable user key in restic? (restic key remove)?

If I understand correctly, user key revocation doesn’t prevent users with the revoked password from accessing the data inside the repository (because they already obtained the repo encryption key with restic cat masterkey before their key was revoked).

Perhaps the goal is to prevent a user from accessing a repository with an unmodified client? This doesn’t seem very valuable - it is trivial to overcome as the client is open source. Probably a 1-line change to set the encryption key to a constant instead of retrieving it from the repository.

Further thoughts:

• Restic seems to have a really nice implementation of data-at-rest-encryption, key-wrapping keys, and data integrity verification.

• But if I understand correctly, Restic does not support concept of cryptoperiods (NIST 800-57, section 5.3) - the ability to re-encrypt data within the repository when needed. Like when a key leaks, a user leaves the organization, or technology improves sufficiently to make old keys crackable.

• For applications like restic (symmetric data encryption, large volumes, originator-usage, key-wrapping keys), I believe NIST recommends cryptoperiods of < 2 years. (5.3.6)

• If restic supported re-encryption, the restic key remove revocation function would make a lot more sense. I think restic could support either of two use cases for key revocation:

1. Preventing users with revoked passwords from accessing the repository at all (by re-encrypting the entire repository to a new encryption key which is not accessible with the revoked password). Note that these users may have taken a copy of the repository while they had access.