Newbie here. Restic work ok to backup a btrfs drive?

I’m using Ubuntu 21.10 ext4. And I’m using restic to make daily backup snapshots of my ext4 system drive user files to a USB connected external drive. It’s been working great.

I’m thinking of switching to 21.10 btrfs. Does restic work just the same on a btrfs drive?

Would the external drive need to be formatted as btrfs?

Absolutely.

No, you can use whatever you want.

One potential advantage of using a btrfs source is that you can use a btrfs snapshot to backup a consistent state of the system. This usually doesn’t play a role when backing up a client computer though, which I believe you’re probably doing.

1 Like

@nicnab Great. Thanks. Very helpful. I use Clonezilla to make clones of my Ubuntu ext4 system drive to an external drive. It’s easy and works great.

Is there a simple tool like Clonezilla to make a bootable clone of a btrfs system drive?

I looked at a Partclone video and it was too complicated for me.

I’m not so sure to be honest - btrfs is still on my play list :innocent: Also, if I switch computers, I always take the opportunity to clean up, do a fresh install and get all files and settings I want from my restic backup. That doesn’t take more than an hour usually.

To clone devices, I always just use dd. If you clone the whole thing and not just one partition (so e.g. /dev/sda and not /dev/sda1) I would expect the clone to be just as bootable as the original. My command usually looks like this:
dd if=/dev/sda of=sda.img bs=1M oflag=direct status=progress with an image file in between and then vice versa or directly from device to device with of=/dev/sdb or whatever the device is called.

What does this mean? I’m a newbie and this will help me understand how to use dd.