New to snapshots

Hi restic community, I am new to restic, I would like to create a repository on Hetzner storage cloud. I plan to backup manually the same folders. When it comes to snapshots, am trying to understand these better, when I backup the same folders and their subfolders data, will the snapshot id remain the same or does it change each time a new backup is started?

When folders have had updates with new files and new backups have been made will these backups create new snapshots and each snapshot will contain different files? When I will want to restore my files, will I have to search in each snapshot where the files are? A bit lost here wondering how do i bring it all back together if it’s all spread out in different snapshots.

Hi and welcome, DashyGB!

Every new backup creates a new backup id.

If you modify your files in between, you’ll have multiple snapshots at different point in time.

You can search for files with “restic find” or by mounting the repository with “restic mount”.

1 Like

Each backup creates a new snapshot. All data included in the backup (whether the data has changed or not) will be available when restoring any snapshot. When restoring you can choose to restore everything or a selection of files or folders.

For example if you backup /home/dashygb every day, and one day want to restore from a backup, restore will restore everything from /home/dashygb in one operation, from that point in time.

You can, however, backup different sources to the same repository, e.g. /home/dashygb/Documents in one backup, and /home/dashygb/Pictures in another backup. If you did this, you’d have to restore from each of them.

1 Like

Hallo derphysiker, vielen Dank fĂĽr die RĂĽckmeldung :slight_smile:

If I mount my Hetzner cloud repository on the ubuntu mate desktop that I use, does it mean that I can drag and drop files into there without needing to give these as commands in the terminal? Would the files actually get encrypted before uploading?