Most secure backup scenario

Hi all, first of all I’m a newbie in security :slight_smile:

Now I have a local Linux server running Backuppc (various Windows and Mac folder collected from the lan). My LAN (router) has no open port apart internet service, no port forwarding.
I’m quite secure right now?

Now I’d like to make a remote copy of this backup in another location (home?)

Where is the most secure scenario to protect my lan and my data?

a) Create a VPN to transfer this data to a NAS or another configured linux server at home?
b) Create a VPN to transfer this data to a REST, HTTPs, S3 etc… configured server at home?
c) Others?

The restic push method is most secure then backuppc pull method to avoid lan intrusion is exposed over wan, right?

Please suggest me a detailed guide for the best scenario.

Sorry for my english and my newbie questions :slight_smile:
Thanks

Security is highly relative. There’s no such thing as “being secure”, unfortunately. It all boils down to what threat level you are up against, and how well you are protected against the specific types of threats you can envision, as well as what routines you have in place to deal with a successful attack (this last point is often more important than trying to be completely secure).

This is too broad of a question to answer in general. It depends on many different factors.

A VPN would make it harder for an attacker to gain access to the traffic between your current backup server and the second/remote backup server. This will normally increase security, but might not be a requirement for you, assuming you use already protected channels for the backups (e.g. sending backups over HTTPS to rest-server and using strong authentication, certificates and even whitelisting for the access). It also does make things more complicated, which can weaken security (e.g. due to human errors). I wouldn’t consider a VPN necessary.