Is restic the right tool for me?

restic seems to have taken over the open source personal backup world, and I’ve been using it happily myself for a few years. Thanks to the developers for your hard work. However, I’ve run into a couple problems. Here’s my current setup:

• 3TB (~50% full) FreeNAS VM with mirrored ZFS, accessed over NFS
  • restic to back that up to a USB HDD.
  • rclone to copy the USB restic backup to Backblaze B2
  • Most of my data is images, videos, and music files that don’t change much after being added (though they might be moved around occasionally).

Here are the problems I’ve encountered:

1. It’s very slow. Takes about 4 hours to run restic, and that doesn’t include the time to upload via rclone
  2. I’m concerned that a working version of restic is required to restore my data, rather than simply being stored as flat files.

I’ve tried looking into alternatives, but there are so many slightly different options (https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Synchronization_and_backup_programs).

In my mind, my ideal backup tool would work like this:

• Minimal dependencies. Preferably just stores as timestamped directories with hard links for files that haven’t changed, and updated versions for files that have. I don’t mind using extra storage from not compressing, using file-level deduplication, etc. As long as it’s fairly efficient (ie doesn’t copy the entire filesystem every snapshot).
  • Fast. I don’t need encryption, and if I change my mind about that I’d prefer to use disk-level encryption rather than having it built into my backup tool.
  • Simple. I don’t need features such as fuse mounting.

Are there any tools out there that work like this, or is there a way to use restic more in this way?

You should check borg: https://www.borgbackup.org/

I use it in parallel with restic to have backups using different tool.

You can create a borg repo without encryption (borg init --encryption none)