Increasing transfers with Restic (rclone end point)

Is there a way to increase the number of simultaneous transfers within Restic whilst using a Rclone end point? I see some references in the search to this but no syntax.

I separately use Rclone for other tasks and use the --transfers x flag, but I have tried various forms of this within the transfer to no avail.

This is the syntax I use (without any attempted rclone modification) for Dropbox. I am happy to receive other tips to modify this backup job if they exist. I’m relatively new to Restic.

restic -r rclone:DR:restic/Appdata --verbose backup /Volumes/Appdata

Thanks !

I think you may be looking for the -o rclone.args option. It is described in the section on rclone in the docs.

Having said that, I’m not sure how exactly restic uses rclone and whether the decision to perform multiple simultaneous transfers or not would lie with restic or rclone in this case :see_no_evil:

Thanks. I think I had seen that page before when browsing to set up things, but maybe the detail got lost in the mass of information.

The example helped but it didn’t show the backup command. In the early morning without much coffee that caused a bit of head-scratching until I started writing this response and detailing what I did and what did not work :slight_smile:

This is the command I have now run, but it does not show at least more than two files on the terminal screen at a time, so I don’t know if it is really transferring more than two.

restic -o rclone.program="/usr/local/bin/rclone" \
  -o rclone.args="serve restic --stdio --transfers 10 --verbose" \
  -r rclone:DR:restic/GTW backup /Volumes/Videoserver/GTW

With the size of the backup jobs it would be very desirable to get things going with a little boost!

Thanks.
d