How to delete snaphots older than 1 month

Hey, I’m new to restic. From what I see so far it looks amazing.

I’m confused on how to remove snapshots. What I’d like to do is to delete any snapshots older than 1 month, and keep all snapshots within 1 month from the current calendar date.

Thank you!

There’s currently no option doing exactly that. You can achieve something similar using --keep-within x which keeps snapshot not older than x relative to the latest snapshot in a group of snapshots.

And there’s a feature request which sounds similar to what you’re looking for:

1 Like

Thanks Michael.

Any idea on when this feature would be implemented?

@timsimon What problem are you trying to solve by wanting to “delete any snapshots older than 1 month, and keep all snapshots within 1 month from the current calendar date”?

Imagine what will happen when you for some reason have had failed backup runs for a month - you will end up with almost no snapshots at all (only the very last one, since restic keeps it as a precaution - you have to explicitly delete it if you want to get rid of it).

The --keep-within option @MichaelEischer mentioned is designed the way he mentioned for a good reason. If you use it, you will make sure that you always have at least one month worth of snapshots (as most recent as possible).

2 Likes

Hi, maybe I’m confused then :confused:

I have a script that runs restic every 3 days to backup all my folders.

Every 2 months or so, I wish to remove older snapshots and just keep the most current ones (say for the past 4 weeks) - so stop my disk space from being over-filled.

In that case, I suggest that you follow the previous suggestions, and run

restic forget --dry-run --keep-within 2m