Full snapshot, howto?

Hello everyone

I’ve been using Restic for a couple of weeks and so far so good. I’m not an expert so be kind.

I self host and I am using Restic to backup emails and the var/www folder every night using Cron.

What I’d really like to do is to backup or snapshot the whole system.

So for now I do

restic -r /mybackup drive/ backup /var/www

If I want to backup everything would it be as simple as:

restic -r /mybackup drive/ backup /

ie just / (root)?

Something tells me it won’t be that simple :slightly_smiling_face:

Many thanks

Dj

Basically, yes. But there are some special files on your system that you don’t want to back up, for example the /dev, /proc filesystem and probably /tmp as well. So you should of course exclude these.

But other than that, restic will back up the files that you tell it to back up and that it can read successfully.

@rawtaz thanks very much for your reply. I did play with backing multiple folders which worked as specified. I didn’t really think about folders that shouldn’t however so thanks for the heads up

I realise and understand that you can’t comment on a particular system, but mine is a Debian based self host server, YUNOHOST. So if I backed up the following:

/etc for server config and ./yunohost config
/home for user data etc.
/usr/share/yunohost
/var/www for the obvious web servers
/opt/yunohost (other servers get put here)
/var/lib/mysql for databases

Is there any other “system” folders you think I should grab or is the quicker way to:

Backup everything (/) then exclude the folders you mentioned?

Six of one half a dozen of the other as we say here.

One last thing. Does Restic backup hidden files contained in a folder, I’m guessing it does?

Again thanks for your help. I appreciate it.

Dj