Fixing backups in MacOS Mojave/Catalina (Error: Operation not permitted)

Hello everyone,

I’ve been using restic for 2-3 years so far but lately I found out that MacOs is blocking it from accessing certain directories on my Mac. The issue is this one https://github.com/restic/restic/issues/2051

I’ve been postponing solving the problem for some time because I’m not super familiar with the way Macs work (I switched recently after years and years of Linux). However now I MUST fix it because my backups are broken and a lot of important stuff is not being backed up.

Does anybody know what is an easy way to allow restic to access sensible directories? I saw some suggestions in the linked issue above but none of it is that clear to me on how to implement it on my Mac. I’m quite worried I might lose important documents.

To give some context, I followed the documentation on the main website and I have a crontab like this:

42 * * * * source /Users/gio/.restic/restic-env; /usr/local/bin/restic backup -q --exclude-file /Users/gio/.restic/exclude.txt /Users/gio; 
10 15 */5 * * source /Users/gio/.restic/restic-env; /usr/local/bin/restic forget -q --prune --keep-hourly 48 --keep-daily 30 --keep-monthly 12

I think the context of your question is a bit vague. Are you having a problem with your backups? If yes, which of the proposed solutions in the issue you referred to have you tried?

Restic will output a warning about files that it cannot read, so if you run your backup and don’t get any warnings about files/folders not being read, it should be fine.

Are you certain you need to back up the folders it’s denying access to?

The easy way is to avoid protected directories.