Experience with repacking and recompressing large restic repos in GDrive

I gathered together my thoughts and experience in compressing and repacking two very large restic repos in Google Drive.

I’ve been using restic since 2018 and have been eagerly awaiting the release of the compression feature (my previous backup tool of choice was borg and appreciated that the compression helped with my measly upload bandwidth). However, have a lot of data backed up to Google Drive and was a little bit leery of upgrading my restic repos. But when Google Drive decided to roll out a 5 million file limit (Google Issue Tracker), I knew I needed to take steps to reduce the number of pack files in my Drive, as well as allow me to compress everything. So here are some stats after several weeks of restic pruning.

My first restic repo has about 128 thousand files backed up, mostly media files and other poorly compressible data, taking up 12.3 TB of storage. Because I’ve been using restic since the default pack size was 4 MB, I had over 2 million pack files in the repo. Google Drive also restricts how many API calls you can make per second, so listing files is very slow. During restic prune it would spend about 55 minutes in the searching used packs... stage. To compress, I repeatedly ran restic prune --repack-small --repack-uncompressed --pack-size 128 --compression max --max-repack-size 750G. I restricted it to 750 GB per run because Google Drive has a 750 GB upload per day limit. When the prune was finally complete, the space savings were small (as expected), and the new repo size was 12.1 TB (compressed by 1.7%), but I’m down to 98 thousand pack files, and iterating over the packs takes less than 2 minutes.