Encryption with SFTP backend is done before or after sending the data?

Restic can use the SFTP backend. I know SFTP provides encryption in transit. However, that encryption is weak because it’s asymmetric encryption, meant to hold up a decade or so. There could also be issues with the SSH key leakage.

Does restic encrypt data prior to sending the data to the SSH tunnel?

It seems Borgbackup encrypts before sending over the SSH. But I am new to both tools.

Also, is there any benefit with SFTP compared to rsync-ing a restic repo over ssh? (other than not having to keep a local copy).

Thank you!

Restic completely encrypts the data before sending it over any of the backends it supports.

Rsyncing a repository is more like copying a repository than backing up to a repository - different things. If you want to copy snapshots between two repositories, you can use the restic copy command. I fail to understand your question/use case though if you want the backup repository to be stored offsite, just back up to it directly instead of rsyncing or similar it?

If restic encryts the data before the data leaves the client’s device (restic running on the client’s machine performs AEAD, not the restic running on the server), then it’s safe and rsync is not required. Otherwise, the data must be encrypted client side (using restic etc) and then rsynced.

I want the data protected with AES-256, concerned with the men-in-the-middle who might save the traffic for future decryption (RSA may not hold up for too long).

I prefer Restic due to a slight concern over Borg’s encryption.

Related question, does restic’s repository password ever leave the client’s device, in any of the restic operations (backup, mount, prune, etc) with respect to a remote server?

For example, when a client does:

restic -r sftp:user:data:~/rep backup ~/

restic -r sftp:user:data:~/rep mount /mnt/

or a similar operation, is client’s repository password sent (in the ssh tunnel) to the server?