Do docker containers have to be shutdown for Restic to back them up?

I’m still new to setting up backups but really liking using Restic and autorestic as a wrapper which makes my scripting much easier.

I currently have an unRAID server that backs up once a day to a Restic rest server backend on another unRAID server and also to backblaze b2 as a second location.

The question I have is, is it best practice to shut down your docker containers before doing your backup of the data folders? The reason I ask is in unRAID we have a plug-in that backs up the docker container folders but shuts down the containers before doing so.

Hi @Imitate8184 and welcome to the restic community! :slight_smile:

Depending on what kind of data the volume holds, it could make sense to stop the container first.
For example if the volume holds a database, it would make sense to shut down the container prior, to ensure that there aren’t any unwritten changes.

But since I don’t have enough experience with Docker and containers in general, I can’t give you more help than this.

If you have the ability to do filesystem snapshots, this might also be something to look into.
Let’s see what others can add to this thread :slight_smile:

1 Like

The topic can be simplified a bit by more or less removing the Docker aspect of it, and concluding that the processes that you run in your containers are simply processes just like those that you don’t run using Docker. The difference is that Docker wraps them in namespaces and isolations of various sorts - but they’re still processes.

That aside, how to back their data up boils down to what processes they are, or more specifically what they do and how they store and process the data you want to back up. If you have a process (container) that just reads and writes some files and where there’s no problem with just backing those files up as they are, then you can just go ahead and do that. No point shutting down the container.