Best practice for restore to new computer

I will probably buy a new laptop, probably Pop!_OS pre-installed, in the next several months. Thinking ahead I am trying to mentally rehearse how to reconstitute my home directory (Pop 22.04). I back up only from $HOME with some exclusions, and I do not expect to need everything on my new device (unless it is just easier to do a complete $HOME restore).

Are there best practices for something like this? When I have restored a single file or folder in the past, I usually use the mount command followed by cp. However, I am thinking that would not be the most efficient for the entire $HOME. Also, my new laptop will already have a user and home/[user] with my name. Is restore to a tmp directory the answer? What have some expert users done in this situation?

Do I need to run restic -r $myrepo init on a new computer? How do I get the newly initialized repo to adopt the snapshots from the old computer’s backups?

Now, I’m not an expert but whenever I switch to a fresh install, I also mount the backup repo and then first get all the .folders I know I need, especially the stuff in .config and .local, .bashrc and so on. I copy those using two pane view in Nemo. After that I use rsync to copy over the other folders like Documents, Music etc. because rsync allows me to continue if I need to take a break inbetween for rebooting or something like that.

A fresh install to me is a nice opportunity to get rid of stuff that is there but really isn’t necessary anymore. And if you miss something later, you can always come back and get it.

That said the last two times I just used dd to clone the whole disk which only works if the new disk is bigger than the old one.

I’d probably just copy the files to an external disk, then copy them to the new computer.