Beginner Wasabi backup script failing

Hey, very new restic user here.

I am a bit panicked because my backup failed yesterday and I am not sure why. Please bear with me, I am only beginning to get into Unix and a more terminal-centric usage of my computer.

I am on EndeavourOS running restic 0.12.1-2 from the Arch community repo.

I have a directory (size ~1.5 TB) which I have already successfully backed up to an external HDD with restic. Now I wanted to back up said directory to an online provider as well. I chose Wasabi and followed the instructions in the restic documentation. I created a little script and then left my computer (was gone for a week since I expected it to take some time) to do the backup.

Script:

#!/bin/bash

export AWS_ACCESS_KEY_ID=...
export AWS_SECRET_ACCESS_KEY=...
export WASABI_SERVICE_URL=s3.eu-central-1.wasabisys.com
export WASABI_BUCKET_NAME=...

#echo $AWS_ACCESS_KEY_ID

# Init repository - Not needed anymore!
#restic -r s3:https://s3.eu-central-1.wasabisys.com/<...> init

# Create new snapshot
echo 'INFO: Creating new snapshot!'
restic -r s3:https://s3.eu-central-1.wasabisys.com/<...> backup ~/work
retVal=$?
echo $retVal
if [ $retVal -ne 0 ]; then
    echo "ERROR!"
fi
echo 'INFO: Done!'
echo 'Hibernating in 10s...'
sleep 10
systemctl hibernate

Unfortunately, I have not saved the terminal output. But I remember that there were several “ConnWaitError” errors and restic finished with exit code 1.

So I have several questions:

• Just a quick sanity check, no data on my drive was modified by restic. Only a snapshot was written to the wasabi bucket but that snapshot failed?
  • Has anyone else experienced such an error? Did not find anything, except this lorentzkim Profile - gitmemory , leads me to believe this is an error that is not on my end.
  • Is there anything I can do to avoid this error? Can I improve my script or how should I go from here?

Thanks a lot in advance!

1 Like