Backup lots of b2_download_file_by_name API calls

Hi there,

I’m quite new in using restic for backing up my data. I have a dedicated server and I’m using restic with backblaze b2 cloud storage to backup my docker stack and my home directory.

I wrote a small script to backup my data automatically every night as below:

set -euo pipefail

. /opt/bash/bash_colors.sh

export B2_ACCOUNT_ID=<>
export B2_ACCOUNT_KEY=<>
export RESTIC_PASSWORD=<>

error() {
  >&2 clr_red "$@"
  exit 1
}

[ "${UID}" -ne 0 ] && error "This program needs to be run as root, exiting..."

clr_green "[+] Backing up docker volumes"
restic -r b2:nullbyte:/var/lib/docker/volumes --verbose backup /var/lib/docker/volumes/

clr_green "[+] Backing up home directory"
restic -r b2:nullbyte:/home/lionel --verbose backup /home/lionel

However, this seems to create a lot of b2_download_file_by_name API call, like he is trying to reconstruct the cache everytime:

Sep 12 05:23:07 xxxxxxxx backup.sh[26023]: Load(<index/2202c4ef98>, 0, 0) returned error, 
retrying after 9.997698328s: b2_download_file_by_name: 403: Cannot download file, download 
bandwidth or transaction (Class B) cap exceeded.
Sep 12 05:23:08 xxxxxxxx backup.sh[26023]: Load(<index/5d5107556e>, 0, 0) returned error, 
retrying after 6.222894868s: b2_download_file_by_name: 403: Cannot download file, download 
bandwidth or transaction (Class B) cap exceeded.

This cause the second backup (to one of the home directory) to never be fulfill successfully, because transaction caps for downloading files on backblaze is limited.

What should I do to reduce these API calls ?

Best regards.

Hi @nullbyte and welcome to the restic community :slight_smile:

Can you share with us how low you have set your cap on the b2 website for the class B API calls?

Hi @moritzdietz

Thanks for the help :slight_smile:

Right now, I’m using a free account on backblaze because the amount of data to backup is < 10G. So I have a daily hits caps to 2500 API call per day.