If the drive letter of my external HDD changes on Windows, and I attempt to save another snapshot with restic, will it think all of the files are new and double up the backup size?
Nevermind. It doesn’t double the size. You can disregard this post! Sorry!
Just for future reference in case anyone else is reading - nope, restic will see the files contents’ as it is and not store the same data twice, it’s the deduplication feature it has.