Restic internal format

I am new to restic and love it so far! I have a question around the internal format of restic data.

How can we guarantee (restore) access to restic repos far into the future?

I have reviewed the reference guide. I have reviewed issues such 628.

I am still unclear and hence the question.

For a bit more context to help clarify the question, I have been backing up computer data for 30+ years. A common problem I have faced is around internal format representations of the backup archive can become obsolete and therefore, rendered useless. Also the media it is stored on, but I think I have a process for that. :slight_smile:

I regularly exercise restore capability for the most critical data to ensure its availability. I believe the ‘check’ function and doing restores provides confidence for this type of backup.

But I also have a lot of long term, ‘cold storage’ type of backups (i.e. a document from 20+ years ago). Generally, I don’t have the time to exercise these restores, and therefore don’t.

I am concerned about the ongoing ‘maintenance’ of these types of repos because I may have to migrate them as the restic internal format changes with newer versions.

Are there any common practices folks have done to address this type of scenario? For instance, just store a copy of the restic binary with the backup repos. Given restic is still young, would you not recommend it for long term backup storage?

I was a crashplan user. Another case where the backup format caused a lot of pain because I had to restore all the backups to native file system formats to then add back into a restic repo. Many hours of migration work.

Hopefully, I am clear expressing my concern. That said, I am eager to become a regular user of restic. I am working on setting up backups across my machines.

It’s a good thing to consider.