How to remove damaged Pack file?

So I had been using Restic for a few months for backup. Until I ran a full check of the repo. I got this error.

Pack ID does not match, want 5c35e993, got a4351f35
[5:59:10] 100.00%  79909 / 79909 packs...
Fatal: repository contains errors

I did a little bit reading on other forums where people have had this issue. The answer seems to be to be:

1. Copy index
  2. Remove damaged pack file
  3. Rebuild index
  4. Do a backup --force

How do I remove this damaged pack file? If I go in the Data folder the file names are really long, and not like the Pack ID which is 8 characters long.

I did run a restic -r e:\restic-repo find --pack 5c35e993 command, which gave me a very long result:

Found blob 39542c72575db0e65545ba4cbad47f6a681ba906e4422e201d4402d5c9fa4f59
 ... in file /filename.jpg
     (tree e11e12af8716ebbb95c6388d11d197d9f86d1aaee3ed61510cbd854e179e5f12)
 ... in snapshot 14985708 (2022-04-29 13:05:35)

Great peice of software, but this error is making me a little skeptical now, especially with the fact that the simple --check option revealed no issues before hand, and the difficulty I’m having trying to resolve this.

There seems to be no --repair option also.

There is a file in one of the data folder starting with a4351f35, which is the pack file you’re looking for. Btw, have a look at Recover from broken pack file · Issue #828 · restic/restic · GitHub if you haven’t already.

Pack ID does not match, want 5c35e993, got a4351f35
[5:59:10] 100.00%  79909 / 79909 packs...
Fatal: repository contains errors

I can find 5c35e993 in the Data folder, but not, a4351f35.

If you run a sha256sum on the pack file starting with 5c35e993, it will most likely give you a4351f35… as result.
This is what the check is bailing: In restic all files (except config) should be named after their SHA256 sum. This file isn’t which means there is something wrong here.

Thanks, I understand that now. Filename should match sha256.